Dickon Drury

The Who's Who of Whos, 2016


Edition of 80 + 20 AP's
42 cm x 30 cm 

The price of the edition increases as it sells out




If you have a question about this piece of work, please get in touch.

About the artwork

Dickon Drury upends traditional forms of still-life and portraiture, placing his subjects in ludic and surreal situations in which peril is cut through with humour. In this new work, a mustachioed man stalks the streets of a small town at night. His unnatural height is perhaps explained by the eyes peering through the gaps in his coat - rather than a sinister interlocutor, Drury's agent is a 'totem pole trench', a classic slapstick trope.

About the artist

Dickon Drury (b. 1986, Salisbury, UK) is a recent graduate of the Slade School of Fine Art and a recipient of the Slade School of Fine Art, Desiree Painting Prize (2016). Recent solo exhibitions include: The Who‘s Who of Whos, Koppe Astner, Glasgow (2016); Optics Don‘t Make Marks, Spike Island Project Space, Bristol. Selected group exhibitions include: Glossary, Safehouse 2, London (2016); Curse of the Laughing Hand, Rogue Artist Project Space, Manchester (2016); 2015 Imagine (Curated by Tomma Abts and Alistair McKinven), Londonewcastle Project Space, London (2015); Drawing Room, The Old Cycle Club, London (2014). 

Studio Voltaire has been supporting artists for over twenty years, through our renowned programme of exhibitions, performances, events and education projects as well as providing affordable studios.

We have gained a reputation for championing both emerging and underrepresented artistic practices, often at key stage in the artist’s career. These have included Marvin Gaye Chetwynd, Phyllida Barlow, Ruth Ewan, Elizabeth Price, Jo Spence, Joanne Tatham & Tom O’Sullivan, Richard Slee and Cathy Wilkes.

The gallery also provides an important UK platform for international artists, often providing them their first-ever presentation in the UK. These have included Nairy Baghramian, Thea Djordjadze, Nicole Eisenman, Judith Hopf, Paulina Olowska and Henrik Olesen.