Dean Sameshima

Men Ruin Everything Sweater


Limited edition sweater
Edition of 50   
S, M, L , XL




If you have a question about this piece of work, please get in touch.

About the product

Dean Sameshima investigates the arena of queer histories, nostalgia, desire and fetish in his work, which consists of paintings and photographs. In this exclusive sweatshirt designed specifically for House of Voltaire, the artist has continued his tradition of using silk-screen techniques in his on-going exploration of historical subcultures, in particular, the punk rock and DIY movement.

About the artist 

Dean Sameshima (b.1971 Torrance, CA) lives and works in Berlin, Germany. Selected exhibitions include 647(a), Peres Projects, Berlin, DE (2017); Dean Sameshima, McNamara Art Projects, Hong Kong (2017); 647(d), Gavlak Gallery, Los Angeles (2016); Public Sex, organized by Andy Campbell, She Works Flexible Gallery, Houston (2016); Art AIDS America, The Bronx Museum of the Arts, Bronx, NY (2016); Serialize, Peres Projects, Berlin, Germany (2015);  The New Disorder, Ileana Tounta Contemporary Art Centre, Athens, Greece (2011); Cruise or Be Cruised, Galeria Raquel Ponce, Madrid, Spain (2013); FATHER, curated by Diego Singh, Mendes Wood, São Paulo, Brazil (2011); Art Statements, Basel (2002).

His works are included in the permanent collection of the Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles.

Studio Voltaire has been supporting artists for over twenty years, through our renowned programme of exhibitions, performances, events and education projects as well as providing affordable studios.

We have gained a reputation for championing both emerging and underrepresented artistic practices, often at key stage in the artist’s career. These have included Marvin Gaye Chetwynd, Phyllida Barlow, Ruth Ewan, Elizabeth Price, Jo Spence, Joanne Tatham & Tom O’Sullivan, Richard Slee and Cathy Wilkes.

The gallery also provides an important UK platform for international artists, often providing them their first-ever presentation in the UK. These have included Nairy Baghramian, Thea Djordjadze, Nicole Eisenman, Judith Hopf, Paulina Olowska and Henrik Olesen.