Jeremy Deller

God Bless David Bowie Shopper


Double–sided limited edition canvas bag
Glitter vinyl on 100% canvas tote

47 x 42cm

This item is currently out of stock.

If you have a question about this piece of work, please get in touch.

About the artwork

Studio Voltaire presents Jeremy Deller’s limited edition shopper, which pays tribute to the influential musician David Bowie. Produced in London.

Bowie was a major component in Deller’s solo presentation at the Venice Biennale in 2013. Looking at the relationship between flamboyant creativity and social change, the artist mapped Bowie’s tour as Ziggy Stardust across the UK in the early 1970s alongside photographs of key moments of political and social upheaval such as industrial action and IRA bombings from the same period.

About the artist

Deller’s multi-faceted practice incorporates forms of social investigation and archival research, often celebrating British popular and vernacular culture. The artist represented Britain in the Venice Biennale in 2013 and won the Turner Prize in 2004. In 2016 Deller collaborated with Iggy Pop on a life drawing class. In 2017 he participated in Skulptur Projekte Münster.

Deller is represented by The Modern Institute, Glasgow; Art Concept, Paris and Gavin Brown's enterprise, New York.

Click here for further editions and special products by Jeremy Deller.

Studio Voltaire has been supporting artists for over twenty years, through our renowned programme of exhibitions, performances, events and education projects as well as providing affordable studios.

We have gained a reputation for championing both emerging and underrepresented artistic practices, often at key stage in the artist’s career. These have included Marvin Gaye Chetwynd, Phyllida Barlow, Ruth Ewan, Elizabeth Price, Jo Spence, Joanne Tatham & Tom O’Sullivan, Richard Slee and Cathy Wilkes.

The gallery also provides an important UK platform for international artists, often providing them their first-ever presentation in the UK. These have included Nairy Baghramian, Thea Djordjadze, Nicole Eisenman, Judith Hopf, Paulina Olowska and Henrik Olesen.